Yarriambiack Shire Council postal election

Your council, your vote



You must be enrolled to vote

A general election will be held for Yarriambiack Shire Council in October 2020. To be able to vote in the election, you must be enrolled by the close of roll at 4 pm on Friday 28 August 2020. Two categories of voters can be enrolled to vote in the Yarriambiack Shire Council election: State-enrolled voters and Council-enrolled voters.

State-enrolled voters

Am I enrolled to vote?

You are automatically enrolled for this election if:

- you will be 18 years of age or over on Saturday 24 October 2020 AND
- you live in Yarriambiack Shire AND
- you are on the State electoral roll for your current address.

You need to enrol if:

- you are an Australian citizen aged 18 or over on Saturday 24 October 2020 AND
- you live in Yarriambiack Shire and you are not on the State electoral roll OR
- you have lived at your current residential address within Yarriambiack Shire for at least a month and have not yet updated your enrolment details, including any changes to your postal address.

How do I enrol?

You can enrol online at vec.vic.gov.au

You can also download an enrolment form from the website. All enrolment applications must be received by the Victorian Electoral Commission by the close of roll at 4 pm on Friday 28 August 2020.

How can I check my State enrolment?

You can check your enrolment details online at **vec.vic.gov.au** at any time, or call 1300 805 478.

Council-enrolled voters

Am I enrolled to vote?

To be a Council-enrolled voter, you must be:

- 18 years of age or over on Saturday 24 October 2020 AND
- not a State-enrolled voter within Yarriambiack Shire.

You are automatically enrolled for this election if you were enrolled as a non-resident owner at the most recent election for your local area. This includes any by-elections held since the last general election.

If your circumstances have changed since the most recent election and you are no longer a non-resident owner of that property, you will not be automatically enrolled for this election. Depending on your circumstances, you may still be eligible to apply to be enrolled as a Council-enrolled voter.

Who else can enrol & vote?

You may also apply to enrol if:

- you have purchased a rateable property in Yarriambiack Shire since the last election or by-election and you are not automatically enrolled OR
- you are not an Australian citizen and you live in, and pay rates for, a property within Yarriambiack Shire **OR**
- you pay rates on a property you occupy in Yarriambiack Shire, for example you are a shop tenant and pay rates to the Council for the tenancy, and you have no other voting entitlement within Yarriambiack Shire OR
- you are a director or company secretary of a corporation that pays rates to Yarriambiack Shire Council and you have no other voting entitlement within Yarriambiack Shire.

@electionsvic 🚹 😈 🧿

How do I apply to be a Council-enrolled voter?

If you meet any of the mentioned criteria and wish to enrol, contact Yarriambiack Shire Council on (03) 5398 0100 for a council enrolment form. Council enrolment forms must be received by the Council by the close of roll at 4 pm on Friday 28 August 2020.

How can I check if I am Council-enrolled?

You can check your enrolment details by contacting the Council on (03) 5398 0100.

Thinking about standing for election?

Candidate requirements have recently changed. To nominate as a candidate for Yarriambiack Shire Council, you must:

- be an Australian citizen and enrolled on the voters' roll for Yarriambiack Shire Council AND
- be eligible to become a councillor should you be elected AND
- have completed the mandatory candidate training before lodging your nomination with the Election Manager.

For further information, visit vec.vic.gov.au

Enrolment closes 4 pm Friday 28 August

State-enrolled voters can register for free VoterAlert SMS and email reminders at **vec.vic.gov.au**

vec.vic.gov.au | 131 832

For enquiries in languages other than English call our interpreting service:

- ・በለማርኛ 9209 0190 Amharic・ووع 9209 0100 Arabic・Bosanski 9209 0191 Bosnian・粵語 9209 0101 Cantonese・Hrvatski 9209 0102 Croatian・دى 9209 0102 Croatian・دى 9209 0103 Dari
- Dinka 9209 0119 Dinka Eλληνικά 9209 0103 Greek Italiano 9209 0104 Italian เจ๋ 9209 0192 Khmer 한국어 9209 0194 Korean Македонски 9209 0105 Macedonian
- 國語 9209 0106 Mandarin فارسى 9209 0195 Persian Русский 9209 0196 Russian Српски 9209 0107 Serbian Soomalii 9209 0108 Somali Español 9209 0109 Spanish
- · Türkçe 9209 0110 Turkish · Việt-n ữ 9209 0111 Vietnamese · All other non-English languages 9209 0112



Authorised by W. Gately, AM, Electoral Commissioner, 530 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria.